CFAES Give Today
Pesticide Safety Education Program

Ohio State University Extension

CFAES

May 15, 2024 - New Applicator Training - In Person

May 15, 2024, 8:30am - 3:30pm
Cost: 
$35 - morning session, $25 - afternoon session
Location: 
Ohio Department of Agriculture
Contact: 
Pesticide Safety Education Program
6142924070

New Pesticide Applicator Training Classes 
(Core and Categories 6c; 5 or 8)

 

Ohio Department of Agriculture
Bromfield Administration Building
8995 East Main Street
Reynoldsburg, Ohio 43068


Menu
Registration
Schedule
License and Study Materials
Contact

New Pesticide Applicator Training Classes

(Core and Categories 5, 6c, 8)

This training program provides an overview of pesticide safety information. Everyone attending the morning session will receive documentation that they have met the requirements of Trained Serviceperson training. A Trained Serviceperson can apply pesticides in Ohio as long as they are working under the supervision of a licensed commercial applicator. The afternoon sessions will review Ornamental Weed Control (Category 6c). Attendees will choose between Industrial Vegetation (Category 5) and Turf (Category 8). Testing is available at the conclusion of the day. A photo ID is required for the test.

Program Brochure

Note: There will be no recertification credits offered at any New Applicator classes. If you need recertification credits, please attend one of our online Commercial Recertification Programs in the winter.

 

 


Registration

$35 Morning Session - Core/Trained Service Persons
$25 Afternoon Sessions - Categories 6c, 5 or 8

 

Registration Closed - Walk ins are welcome!

Registration and check in opens at 8:30 a.m. The class begins at 9:00 a.m. The class fees include a continental breakfast, instruction, and class notes. Lunch is included with pre-registration. Pre-regsitration is required and closes one week prior to course. To receive study materials for the class, you must apply for a license with the Ohio Department of Agriculture, which requires a separate $35 fee. Signing up for this class will not deliver you study materials.

BREAKOUT SESSIONS

If registering for the entire day, you will need to choose your breakout session:

5- Industrial Vegetation - The application of pesticides to non-agricultural lands, such as roadways, public water courses, utility rights-of-way, or in close proximity to industrial sites, power stations, parking lots or similar areas for the control or eradication of unwanted vegetation. NOTE: this category is permitted to make 6c applications.

8- Turf - The application of pesticides to lawns, turf, sod, or to soil areas being prepared for the production of turf for the control of pests except vertebrates. NOTE: this category is permitted to make 6c applications.

Please contact us at 614-292-4070 if you need help choosing your breakout session.

Refunds and Cancellations: There is a $25 processing charge per registrant for any cancellation, including Purchase Orders. No-shows must notify the registrar within two weeks of a missed course: reschedule for another course OR request a refund. No refunds will be issued after more than two weeks from the missed session. There is a $30 fee for returned checks.

Registration deadline 5/8/24. Walk ins welcome.


Schedule

Registration and check in begins at 8:30 a.m. Below is the class schedule.

8:30 - Room Opens, check in
9:00 Morning Session
Core Review
Laws and Regulations Applicator Safety and Environment
Calculations and Formulations Label Interpretation and Quiz
Lunch: 12:15 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
1:00 p.m. Afternoon Session
Weed and Herbicide Basics
Weed control principless and herbicide terminology for:
Ornamental Weed (6c) Industrial Vegetation (5)
Turf (8)  
2:10 Breakout Sessions
Turf (8) Industrial Vegetation (5)
Turf Insects Applications and Calculations
Turf Disease Label Reading
  Noxious Weed ID

 


 

License and Study Materials

The New Applicator Pesticide Training course is designed to help you prepare for the Commercial Pesticide Applicator test. To become licensed, you must apply for your license with the Ohio Department of Agriculture.

The application for a pesticide license requires a separate $35 fee be paid to the Ohio Department of Agriculture. Once you have applied for your license, you will receive study materials. It can take 4-6 weeks to receive your study materials. We recommend that you apply for your license before taking this course. A representative from the ODA will be available on site to distribute study materials, if you have not yet received them.

You must pass the core test and at least one category test to receive your license.

Click here for the applicator application form and instructions on obtaining a license.


 

Training Provided by:

Pesticide Safety Education Program
Ohio State University Extension
614-292-4070

Program/ Registration Questions: OSU Pesticide Safety Education Program
614-292-4070
pested@osu.edu